Chilehaus

Chilehaus

Brick Expressionism

A Pearl of Clinker Culture

The Chilehaus is a Kontorhaus in Hamburg's Kontorhaus District, built between 1922 and 1924. Fritz Höger's architecture was exemplary for the brick expressionism of the 1920s, which was inspired by brick Gothic and Expressionism.

When talking or thinking about Hamburg’s Kontorhaus District, the Chilehaus on Burchardplatz inevitably comes to mind, as it is more representative of this area than any other building. One might even think that the Kontorhaus block built in 1922-1924 by Fritz Höger for Henry Braren’s Sloman is better known and more famous than the district in which it stands.

With, but not only because of its striking lace, which is also reminiscent of a ship’s bow thanks to the Andean condor designed as a figurehead on the ground floor, Chilehaus is indisputably the landmark of the Kontorhaus district. This predestined position is impressively demonstrated and reinforced by an environment completely tailored to it.

Historische Aufnahme des Chilehauses

The Chilehaus looks the way it looks, because it is supposed to fill exactly this role. With up to ten storeys, it is not only the highest building in this area, but also offers the largest gross floor area with 36,000m².

Chilehaus has been a listed building since 1983 and was inscribed on the UNESCO World Heritage List in 2015 together with the Kontorhaus district.

A Building of Superlatives

Chilehaus in Figures

The Chilehaus was completed on 1 April 1924. 4,000 craftsmen were involved in the construction. On a floor area of 5,950 square metres, the building rises on 18,000 running metres of driven piles with a total usable area of 36,000 square metres. The excavated earth had amounted to 20,000 cubic metres; 750 goods wagons of cement, 30,000 cubic metres of gravel, 1,600 tons of round iron, 900,000 pieces of hollow ceiling blocks, 4.8 million pieces of bricks and 3.5 kilometres of zinc sheet gutters had been used. 15 kilometres of piping ran through the building and 2,800 windows provide light for the offices.

floor plan Chilehaus, ground floor

Chilehaus then

Bauarbeiter des Chilehauses mit Architekt Fritz HögerAuf dem Vorplatz des Chilehauses ca. 1924Chilehaus Spitze 1920er JahreLuftaufnahme 1930er Jahre KontorhausviertelLuftaufnahme Kontorhausviertel mit ChilehausChilehaus historisch

FAQ

Why is the building called Chilehaus?

The client was shipowner Henry B. Sloman, who had acquired his fortune by trading in saltpetre from Chile. In Hamburg it was customary to give the Kontorhäuser names.

Who was Henry Brarens Sloman?

Henry Brarens Sloman (* 28 August 1848 in Kingston upon Hull; † 24 October 1931 in Hamburg) was a British-German entrepreneur and private banker. After finishing an apprenticeship as a locksmith, Sloman decided to emigrate to Chile in 1869. After 22 years as an employee, Sloman went into business for himself in Chile in 1892 with the saltpetre factory “Gute Hoffnung” in Tocopilla. In 1898 he returned to Hamburg as a rich man. In 1924 Sloman founded the Finanzbank AG.

Did architect Fritz Höger construct any other buildings in the Kontorhaus District?

In addition to the Chilehaus, Fritz Höger (* 12 June 1877 in Bekenreihe near Elmshorn; † 21 June 1949 in Bad Segeberg) planned the Sprinkenhof together with Hans Gerson (* 19 March 1881 in Magdeburg; † 14 October 1931 in Hamburg) and Oskar Gerson (* 11 July 1886 in Magdeburg; † 25 December 1966 in Berkeley, California).

Was Chilehaus damaged during the Second World War?

Yes, there was a bomb hit on the fifth floor, which you can still see today if you look closely. Fortunately, the building remained otherwise unscathed. Far worse was the Speicherstadt, which was largely destroyed.

How is the building used today?

The building is still used as an office building. The owner is Union Investment.

Which areas of Chilehaus can be visited?

The building is generally not open to the public, but is used as an office building. Information about Chilehaus can be found locally at the World Heritage Info Point.

Do you offer guided tours?

Guided tours are offered by the Hamburg tour guides. For further information please contact the Speicherstadtmuseum or Hamburg Tourismus. The building is open to the public on the day of the open monument. Union Investment organizes guided tours on this day.

Chilehaus today

Chilehaus C
Pumpen 6
D-20095 Hamburg

Mon ‒ Thu: closed
Fri: 12 p.m. ‒ 6 p.m.
Sat + Sun: 10 a.m. ‒ 6 p.m.

free

Chilehaus

Chilehaus

Backsteinexpressionismus

Eine Perle der Klinkerkultur

Das Chilehaus ist ein von 1922 bis 1924 erbautes Kontorhaus im Hamburger Kontorhausviertel. Die Architektur von Fritz Höger war beispielgebend für den Backsteinexpressionismus der 1920er Jahre, der von Backsteingotik und Expressionismus inspiriert war.

Wenn man über das Hamburger Kontorhausviertel spricht oder nachdenkt, kommt einem unweigerlich sofort das Chilehaus am Burchardplatz in den Sinn, steht es doch wie kein anderes Gebäude repräsentativ für dieses Areal. Man möchte sogar meinen, dass der 1922-1924 von Fritz Höger im Auftrag für Henry Brarens Sloman erbaute Kontorhausblock bekannter und berühmter ist, als das Viertel, in dem es steht.

Mit, aber nicht nur aufgrund seiner markanten Spitze, die auch dank des als Galionsfigur gestalteten Andenkondors im Erdgeschoss an einen Schiffsbug erinnert, ist das Chilehaus unbestreitbar das Wahrzeichen des Kontorhausviertels. Eindrucksvoll demonstriert und verstärkt wird diese prädestinierte Stellung durch eine komplett darauf abgestimmte Umgebung.

Historische Aufnahme des Chilehauses

Das Chilehaus wirkt wie es wirkt, weil es genau diese Rolle ausfüllen soll. Es ist mit seinen bis zu zehn Geschossen nicht nur das höchste Gebäude in diesem Gebiet, sondern bietet mit 36.000m² auch die größte Bruttogeschossfläche.

Seit 1983 steht das Chilehaus unter Denkmalschutz und wurde 2015 zusammen mit dem Kontorhausviertel in die Liste des UNESCO-Welterbes aufgenommen.

Ein Bau der Superlative

Das Chilehaus in Zahlen

Das Chilehaus wurde am 1. April 1924 fertiggestellt. 4.000 Handwerker waren am Bau beteiligt. Auf der Grundfläche von 5.950 Quadratmetern erhebt sich das Gebäude auf 18.000 laufenden Metern Rammpfählen mit einer Gesamtnutzfläche von 36.000 Quadratmetern. Der Erdaushub hatte 20.000 Kubikmeter betragen; man hatte 750 Güterwagen Zement, 30.000 Kubikmeter Kies, 1.600 Tonnen Rundeisen, 900.000 Stück Deckenhohlsteine, 4,8 Millionen Stück Ziegelsteine und 3,5 Kilometer Dachrinnen aus Zinkblech verarbeitet. Den Bau durchzogen 15 Kilometer Rohrleitungen, 2.800 Fenster geben den Büroräumen Licht.

Grundriss Chilehaus, EG

Chilehaus damals

Bauarbeiter des Chilehauses mit Architekt Fritz HögerAuf dem Vorplatz des Chilehauses ca. 1924Chilehaus Spitze 1920er JahreLuftaufnahme 1930er Jahre KontorhausviertelLuftaufnahme Kontorhausviertel mit ChilehausChilehaus historisch

FAQ

Weshalb heißt das Gebäude Chilehaus?

Bauherr war der Reeder Henry B. Sloman, der sein Vermögen durch den Handel mit Salpeter aus Chile erworben hatte. In Hamburg war es üblich, den Kontorhäusern Namen zu geben.

Wer war Henry Brarens Sloman?

Henry Brarens Sloman (* 28. August 1848 in Kingston upon Hull; † 24. Oktober 1931 in Hamburg) war ein britisch-deutscher Unternehmer und Privatbankier. Nach Beendigung einer Schlosserlehre beschloss Sloman im Jahre 1869 nach Chile auszuwandern. Nach 22 Jahren als Angestellter machte sich Sloman 1892 in Chile mit der Salpeter-Fabrik „Gute Hoffnung“ in Tocopilla selbständig. 1898 kam er als reicher Mann nach Hamburg zurück. 1924 gründete Sloman die Finanzbank AG.

Hat Architekt Fritz Höger noch weitere Gebäude im Kontorhausviertel erbaut?

Neben dem Chilehaus hat Fritz Höger (* 12. Juni 1877 in Bekenreihe bei Elmshorn; † 21. Juni 1949 in Bad Segeberg) gemeinsam mit Hans Gerson (* 19. März 1881 in Magdeburg; † 14. Oktober 1931 in Hamburg) und Oskar Gerson (* 11. Juli 1886 in Magdeburg; † 25. Dezember 1966 in Berkeley, Kalifornien) den Sprinkenhof geplant.

Wurde das Chilehaus im Zweiten Weltkrieg beschädigt?

Ja, es gab einen Bombentreffer im 5. Stock, den man heute noch erahnen kann, wenn man genau hinschaut. Das Gebäude blieb jedoch ansonsten glücklicherweise unversehrt. Weitaus schlimmer traf es die Speicherstadt, die weitestgehend zerstört wurde.

Wie wird das Gebäude heute genutzt?

Das Gebäude wird weiter als Bürogebäude genutzt. Der Eigentümer ist Union Investment.

Welche Bereiche des Chilehauses kann man besichtigen?

Das Gebäude ist grundsätzlich nicht zu besichtigen, sondern wird als Bürogebäude genutzt. Informationen zum Chilehaus finden Sie vor Ort im Welterbe Info Point.

Bieten Sie Führungen an?

Führungen werden durch die Hamburger Gästeführer angeboten. Für weitere Informationen wenden Sie sich bitte an das Speicherstadtmuseum oder Hamburg Tourismus. Das Gebäude ist zum Tag des offenen Denkmals der Öffentlichkeit zugänglich. Union Investment organisiert an diesem Tag Führungen.

Chilehaus heute

Chilehaus C
Pumpen 6
D-20095 Hamburg

Mo ‒ Do: geschlossen
Fr: 12 ‒ 18 Uhr
Sa + So: 10 ‒ 18 Uhr